Weekend back home at the Circus

September 12, 2010

I spent this weekend back up in Bellingham absorbing some of the local culture. We checked out Sh’bang… which I can only describe as equal parts circus, soapbox derby races, and gypsy music. I had the opportunity to take some photos of the locals, one of which is pictured below.

We affectionately called this fellow Gandalf the Purple.

After spending nearly five hours hanging out at the Lookout Arts Center Quarry with all of its colorful inhabitants, it became even more apparent to me that Bellingham has a certain vibe you wont find anywhere else. It also leaves me with the question, if Bellingham is the city of ‘subdued excitement’, what does that make Seattle? What makes my new home special?

Regardless, I am thankful to live in such a unique and beautiful corner of the globe. I’ll leave you with a photo that perfectly captures the hippy paradise that is the old quarry:

Not pictured, a sign that reads: Danger! Deep water, sharp rocks, possible landslides, fish!, naked people. Have fun (carefully).

Leave a Reply

