I work here!

September 24, 2010

So, I just finished my first week at my new job working as a designer at Waggener Edstrom in downtown Bellevue. That’s a picture of the reception desk up above!

It has been an experience… completely different from anything I’ve ever done before. So far, I’ve sat in on a Skype meeting with the Portland crew, sourced images for MSN newsletters, created an infographic for a ‘soft-sell’ to a major pharmaceutical company, learned about billable hours and job codes, and learned a hell of a lot about how the bus system works. I definitely had one of those ‘you are paying me to do this?’ moments yesterday.

I’ve been wanting to take some pictures of the office, but my desk isn’t much to look at at the moment, and I don’t want to be a creepster at work. Right now I sit by myself near the center of the building (no windows unfortunately) but I’ve been told that they are hiring another designer who will share my space in another week or two. There have also been rumblings about an office remodel beginning in December that will involve a lot of knocking down of walls and a general ‘outdoor’ theme. Cross fingers they want to keep me on after my contract is up at the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

